Shortest Day writers chosen

When better than the autumn equinox to announce the writers we are working with for the third Solstice Shorts Festival, Shortest Day. As we asked for SHORT work, there are quite a lot of them!

Some we have worked with before, for others it’s the first time. Work by all these people will be performed by actors at the Solstice Shorts Festival on 21st December 2016 in Greenwich, and will join the work from last year’s Longest Night event in the anthology Shortest Day, Longest Night


(early evening at Made in Greenwich Gallery):

A.J. Akoto
Alison Craig
Frank Rubino
Jill Sharp
Joan Leotta
Karen Bovenmyer
Karina Lutz
Laura Page
Lisa Kelly
Mario Duarte
Marlee Cox
Megan E. Freeman
Moira Quinn
Pat Tompkins
Peter Branson
Scott-Patrick Mitchell
Steph Thompson
Tim Cremin
Vanessa Owen

and prose writers (A bit later, at West Greenwich Library):

C.B. Droege
David Mathews
David Steward
Jamie Wahls
Katy Darby
Lee Nash
Liam Hogan
Pippa Gladhill
Polly Hall
Roger Hecht
Rosalind Stopps
Sarah Evans
Sarah James
Tom McKay

This year the process was to collect music and stories in advance and then ask people to respond to them, so several of these pieces are responding to music from Zav Gvi, which will be played at the Festival, and Juliet Desailly has written a song based on Joan Leotta‘s poem. Rumour has it that Vocal Chords MD Melanie Harrold is working on something in response to a poem too.

Honorable mentions – long-listed writers who didn’t quite make it onto the ‘yes’ list:

Dennis Mombauer, Ruth Bennett, Oscar Windsor-Smith, Adrienne Silcock, Andrew Lucas, Wendy Gill, Carolyn Eden, Kim Russell, Timothy Hudenburg.

1 thought on “Shortest Day writers chosen

  1. Pingback: Liberty Tales at the printers | Arachne Press

Leave a Reply